Forgot password?



Contemporary ordinary Indian passports have a black or deep bluish-black cover with golden coloured printing. The Emblem of India  is emblazoned in the centre of the front cover. The words “पासपोर्ट” in Devanagari  and “Passport” in English are inscribed above the Emblem whereas “भारत गणराज्य” in Devanagari  and “Republic of India” in English are inscribed below the emblem.


Bio-data page of an Indian passport issued since 2015.

Bio-data page of an Indian passport issued prior to 2015

* The Bio data page contains the following information:

* Type: “P”- Stands for “Personal”, “D”- Stands for “Diplomatic”, “S”-
Stands for “Service”
* Country code: IND
* Passport number
* Surname
* Given name(s)
* Nationality
* Sex
* Date of birth
* Place of birth
* Place of issue
* Date of issue
* Date of expiry
* Photo of passport holder
* Ghost picture of the passport holder (only passports issued since
* Signature of the passport holder
* The information page ends with the Machine Readable Passport [8] Zone

* The Demographics page at the end of the passport book contains the
following information:

* Name of father or legal guardian
* Name of mother
* Name of spouse
* Address
* Old passport number
* File number


The passports contain a note from the President of India addressing the authorities of all territories:

_These are to request and require in the Name of the President of the Republic of India  all those whom it may concern to allow the bearer to pass freely without let or hindrance, and to afford him or her, every assistance and protection of which he or she may stand in need.__By order of the President of the Republic of India_

_इसके द्वारा, भारत गणराज्य
के राष्ट्रपति के नाम पर, उन
सब से जिनका इस बात से सरोकार
हो, यह प्रार्थना एवं
अपेक्षा की जाती है कि वे
वाहक को बिना रोक-टोक, आज़ादी
से आने-जाने दें, और उसे हर
तरह की ऐसी सहायता और
सुरक्षा प्रदान करें जिसकी
उसे आवश्यकता हो ।__भारत
गणराज्य के राष्ट्रपति के
आदेश से_

The note bearing page is typically stamped and signed by the issuing authority in the name of the PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF INDIA.